First Woman Elected National President for Federated Farmers

(Published on 22nd June 2017)

West Coast dairy farmer Katie Milne is the new Federated Farmers’ National President. Ms Milne becomes the first woman in the Federation’s 118-year history to hold the presidency.

NZ Landcare Trust Chief Executive Dr Edgar said, “it’s great news that Federated Farmers of New Zealand have elected Katie Milne as their new president.  Katie fully understands the importance of optimising profitability and environmental performance at both a farm and catchment scale."

"It is pleasing to see the Federated Farmers 2017 General Election Manifesto acknowledging the importance of focusing efforts on vulnerable catchments.  The NZ Landcare Trust has had a number of high profile award winning catchment projects that have relied heavily on farmer leadership for their successful implementation."

"The Trust is looking forward to future collaborative opportunities with Federated Farmers.  We firmly believe that through collaboration, farmers and the communities they live in will achieve sustainable environmental outcomes that are also good for their farming businesses. A big congratulations go to Katie on her new role,” Dr Edgar concluded.

Ms Milne succeeds Dr William Rolleston who steps aside after his three-year tenure. A previous Federation Board member and West Coast Provincial President, Katie was Dairy Woman of the Year and a Rural Woman of Influence in 2015.

Manawatu dairy farmer Andrew Hoggard was elected National Vice President while South Canterbury farmer Miles Anderson takes over as National Meat and Fibre chair with Rick Powdrell stepping aside.

Waikato farmer Chris Lewis takes over as National Dairy Industry Chair succeeding Andrew Hoggard. North Canterbury farmer Lynda Murchison has been elected as one of two Board members at large alongside Chris Allen who was reappointed. Arable chair Guy Wigley remains on the Board pending next week’s arable sector AGM.

Federated Farmers Industry Executives 2017/18:

  • Meat & Fibre
    • Miles Anderson (Chairperson) - South Canterbury
    • William Beetham - Wairarapa
    • Dan Hodgen - North Canterbury
    • Simon Williamson - High Country
  • Dairy
    • Chris Lewis (Chairperson) - Waikato
    • Wayne Langford (vice Chair) - Golden Bay
    • Jacqui Hahn (vice Chair) - Waikato
    • Renee Rooney - West Coast
    • Stephen Crawford - Otago
    • Richard McIntyre - Manawatu-Rangitikei

Federated Farmers is one of seven influential organisations with representation on the NZ Landcare Trust Board of Trustees. One of the greatest strengths of the Trust is the diversity of interests represented on the Board - environmental, recreational and production. The other organisations are Ecologic Foundation, Federated Mountain Clubs, Federation of Maori Authorities, Fish & Game NZ, Royal Forest & Bird and Rural Women NZ.





Back to Archive